CPS Instructors and Proxies

In an effort to maintain the highest level of training possible and to help ensure that all CPS Technicians are trained following the standardized curriculum, only certified Instructors and officially approved Instructor Candidates are allowed to teach the CPS Certification class.

In addition, all Technicians and Instructors are required to have a currently certified Instructor or authorized Technician Proxy witness and verify child restraint educational and installation skills in a clinic or Permanent Checking Station setting as a part of the re-certification process.

Following is a list of Natonally Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructors and Technician Proxies in North Carolina sorted by county and by city.

Click on a county name to see available Instructors and/or Proxies:

Alamance Beaufort Buncombe Cabarrus Camden Catawba Chatham Cleveland Columbus Craven Cumberland Dare Durham Forsyth Franklin Gaston Guilford Harnett Iredell Johnston Lee Lenoir Lincoln Macon Martin Mecklenburg Moore Nash Onslow Orange Pender Pitt Randolph Richmond Rutherford Stanly Surry Union Vance Wake Wayne Wilkes Wilson

 
Alamance 
Instructors:
Haw River
Chris Presley
Alamance County EMS
336-684-8344
chrispchris@outlook.com
Mebane
Jennifer Livers
Mebane Fire Department
919-563-5718
jlivers@cityofmebane.com
Technician Proxies:
Graham
Matthew Ingold
North Chatham Vol. Fire Department
336-516-4944
Mingold@northchathamvfd.com

[back to top]

 
Beaufort 
Technician Proxies:
Washington
Angela Flowers
Washington Police Department
252-975-9375
aflowers@washingtonnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Buncombe 
Instructors:
Asheville
Mark Dillingham
*No Agency Listed*
828-782-0798
dillingham2121@gmail.com
Asheville
Beverly Hopps
*No Agency Listed*
828-418-0525
beverly.hopps@mahec.net
Asheville
Victoria Killough
*No Agency Listed*
828-418-0526
Vickie.Killough@MAHEC.net
 
Technician Proxies:
Asheville
Jeremy Brooks
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-243-7901
Jbrooks@ashevillenc.gov
Asheville
Kelly Hinz
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-251-4010
khinz@ashevillenc.gov
Asheville
Kelley Klope
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-251-4011
kklope@ashevillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Cabarrus 
Instructors:
Concord
Tony Miller
NC State Highway Patrol
980-355-2609
ncbeachbumoki@yahoo.com
Kannapolis
Norman Franklin
NC DOI| Office of State Fire Marshal
919-218-6103
norman.franklin@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Camden 
Instructors:
South Mills
Michael Whitehurst
South Mills Fire Department
252-333-4000 (H)
wcuson12@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Catawba 
Instructors:
Catawba
Mark Raulerson
Department of Defense Fire
828-241-3432
mraulerson4@gmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Claremont
Harold Ball
Claremont Fire Department
828-459-9296
rball@cityofclaremont.org
Claremont
Melanie Sigmon
Catawba County EMS
828-464-1575
melaniesigmon@catawbacountync.gov
Hickory
Tonya Moss
Catawba County Health Department
828-695-6595
tmoss@catawbacountync.gov
Hickory
Thomas Raper
Hickory Fire Department
828-261-7288
traper@hickorync.gov

[back to top]

 
Chatham 
Technician Proxies:
Pittsboro
Chad Deal
North Chatham Vol. Fire Department
919-542-3380
ltcdeal@hotmail.com

[back to top]

 
Cleveland 
Technician Proxies:
Shelby
Tina Williams
Cleveland County Schools
704-284-0110 (H)
tdwilliams@clevelandcountyschools.org

[back to top]

 
Columbus 
Instructors:
Clarendon
Ronnie Hayes
Leland Fire and Rescue
910-367-2388
rhayes@townofleland.com

[back to top]

 
Craven 
Instructors:
New Bern
Dennis Tyndall
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2955
tyndalld@newbernnc.gov
 
Technician Proxies:
New Bern
Jeremy Blalock
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2961
blalockj@newbernnc.gov
New Bern
Gregory Gibson
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4390
supergibby30@yahoo.com

[back to top]

 
Cumberland 
Instructors:
Spring Lake
David Maloof
*No Agency Listed*
910-396-1866
braggfireguy@yahoo.com
Wade
Robert Brogdon
Fort Liberty Fire and Emergency Services
910-391-7819
robert.brogdon1@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
Fayetteville
Brandon Hanzal
Stoney Point Fire Department
910-424-0694
bhanzal@stoneypointfire.com
Spring Lake
Jason Williams
Spring Lake Fire Department
910-436-0337
jwilliams@townofspringlake.com

[back to top]

 
Dare 
Technician Proxies:
Nags Head
Shane Hite
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
Shane.hite@nagsheadnc.gov
Nags Head
Philip Wolfe
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
phil.wolfe@nagsheadnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Durham 
Instructors:
Durham
Theresa Cromling
*No Agency Listed*
919-475-6214 (H)
tmcromling@gmail.com
Durham
Bill Hall
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-215-1815
bill.hall85@gmail.com
Durham
Bevan Kirley
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-962-5836
kirley@hsrc.unc.edu
Durham
John ODonnell
*No Agency Listed*
919-422-2963
Jodmedic144@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
Durham
Jeffrey Howard
Durham Fire Department
919-418-8755 (H)
jeffrey.howard@durhamnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Forsyth 
Technician Proxies:
Kernersville
Chris Kauffman
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
CKauffman@toknc.com
Kernersville
Aaron Monroe
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
AMonroe@toknc.com
Winston-Salem
James Albury
*No Agency Listed*
336-904-8055
Albury32@icloud.com

[back to top]

 
Franklin 
Technician Proxies:
Louisburg
William Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Gaston 
Instructors:
Gastonia
Jaclyn Quinley
Gastonia Police Department
704-842-5124
quinley_jackie@cityofgastonia.com

[back to top]

 
Guilford 
Technician Proxies:
Greensboro
Melanie Beeson
Greensboro Police Department
336-430-6533
melanie.daniel@greensboro-nc.gov
Greensboro
Leigha Jordan
Moses Cone Health Care System
336-832-3939
leigha.shepler@gmail.com
Summerfield
Jenna Daniels
Summerfield Fire Department
336-643-4341
jdaniels@summerfieldfire.com

[back to top]

 
Harnett 
Instructors:
Angier
Jason Nesbit
Angier & Black River Fire Department
919-892-5006
jason.nesbit@ncdoi.gov
Erwin
Alexander Wilkins
NC DOI| Office of State Fire Marshal
919-609-7609 (H)
alexander.wilkins@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Iredell 
Instructors:
Mooresville
Tonya Newman
Mooresville Fire Department
704-664-1338
tnewman@mooresvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Johnston 
Technician Proxies:
Benson
William Lee
Smithfield Police Department
919-934-2121
wtlee1109@gmail.com
Selma
Jennifer Williams
Partnership for Children of Johnston County
919-975-2521
jwilliams@pfcjc.org

[back to top]

 
Lee 
Technician Proxies:
Sanford
Heather Lineberry
Sanford Fire Department
919-775-8312
heather.lineberry@sanfordnc.net
Sanford
Ronnie Page
Sanford Fire Department
919-777-1002
ronnie.page@sanfordnc.net

[back to top]

 
Lenoir 
Instructors:
Kinston
Velvet Tyndall
NC Cooperative Extension
252-527-2191
vwtyndal@ncsu.edu

[back to top]

 
Lincoln 
Technician Proxies:
Lincolnton
Joseph Fletcher
Lincolnton Fire Department
980-525-6103
jfletcher@lincolntonnc.org

[back to top]

 
Macon 
Technician Proxies:
Otto
Jo Provost
*No Agency Listed*
704-575-9226
jodayprovost@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Martin 
Technician Proxies:
Williamston
Phillip Peaks
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
michaelpeaks@townofwilliamston.com
Williamston
Robert Rogers
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
robrogers@townofwilliamston.com
Williamston
Laura Stone
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
laurastone@townofwilliamston.com

[back to top]

 
Mecklenburg 
Technician Proxies:
Charlotte
Janice Williams
Carolinas Healthcare System
704-208-6428
janice.williams@atriumhealth.org
Matthews
Tim Aycock
Matthews Police Department
704-841-6754
taycock@matthewsnc.gov
Matthews
Brian Shepherd
Matthews Police Department
704-841-6748
bshepherd@matthewsnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Moore 
Technician Proxies:
Aberdeen
Jeremiah Johnson
Aberdeen Fire Department
910-944-7888
capt41j@gmail.com
Pinehurst
Donna Mckone Page
Pinehurst Fire Department
910-295-5575 (H)
dpage@vopnc.org

[back to top]

 
Nash 
Technician Proxies:
Nashville
Robert Bobbitt
Nashville Fire Department
252-459-3017
robbie.bobbitt@townofnashvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Onslow 
Technician Proxies:
Jacksonville
Zachary Getts
Jacksonville Fire Department
910-455-8080
zgetts@jacksonvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Orange 
Instructors:
Chapel Hill
Justin Matthews
*No Agency Listed*
919-697-5970 (H)
jmatthews@townofchapelhill.org
Chapel Hill
Kristel Robison
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-962-6404
robison@hsrc.unc.edu
Technician Proxies:
Chapel Hill
Millard Gregory
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-969-2007
tgregory@townofchapelhill.org

[back to top]

 
Pender 
Instructors:
Rocky Point
Britney Melvin
New Hanover County Fire and Rescue
910-798-7336
Bmelvin@nhcgov.com

[back to top]

 
Pitt 
Technician Proxies:
Farmville
Spencer Albritton
Town of Winterville
252-756-2515 (H)
kany.torres@wintervillenc.com
Greenville
Alfred Everington
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4396
ugowego54@gmail.com
Greenville
Ellen Walston
Eastern Carolina Injury Prevention Program
252-847-8532
ewalston@vidanthealth.com
Winterville
David Moore
Winterville Fire/Rescue
252-756-2515
david.moore@wintervillenc.com

[back to top]

 
Randolph 
Technician Proxies:
Asheboro
Wendy Fuller
Randolph County Public Health
336-318-6196
wendy.kennon@randolphcountync.gov
Randleman
James Parrish
Randleman Police Department
336-495-7516
jparrish@randlemanpolice.org

[back to top]

 
Richmond 
Technician Proxies:
Rockingham
Amy Hamilton
First Health of the Carolinas
910-417-3735
aforester@firsthealth.org

[back to top]

 
Rutherford 
Technician Proxies:
Rutherfordton
Jessica Crawford
Atrium Healthcare System
980-487-3826
crawford.jess14@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Stanly 
Technician Proxies:
Albemarle
Adam Palmer
Stanly County EMS
704-956-1526
apalmer@stanlycountync.gov

[back to top]

 
Surry 
Instructors:
Elkin
Theresa Knops
Elkin Fire Department
801-209-4743 (H)
thatknopsgirl@gmail.com
Elkin
Myron Waddell
*No Agency Listed*
336-374-0484
myron@thewaddellfamily.com

[back to top]

 
Union 
Instructors:
Marshville
Deanna Pressley
*No Agency Listed*
704-507-0627
irishhearts4ever@aol.com
Waxhaw
Claudia Summers
National Safety Council
630-775-2296
claudia.summers@nsc.org
Technician Proxies:
Indian Trail
Windi Henderson
Hemby Bridge Fire Department
704-882-2100
windihenderson@hembybridgevfd.com
Monroe
Kevin Philemon
Monroe Fire Department
704-282-4706
kphilemon@monroenc.org

[back to top]

 
Vance 
Instructors:
Henderson
Allan Buchanan
NC DOI| Office of State Fire Marshal
919-218-7855
allan.buchanan@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Wake 
Instructors:
Cary
Stanley Mchenry
Durham Police Department
919-210-7399
dpdtact5@aol.com
Fuquay-Varina
Kelly Ransdell
National Fire Protection Association
919-717-0017
kransdell@nfpa.org
Morrisville
Thomas Dooley
Morrisville Fire Department
919-463-6140
tdooley@townofmorrisville.org
Raleigh
Suzanne Ledoyen
Wake County Human Services
919-250-4633
suzanneledoyen@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
Apex
David Dillon
Apex Fire Department
919-362-4001 (H)
david.dillon@apexnc.org
Apex
Michael Kallam
Apex Fire Department
919-362-4001
Michael.kallam@apexnc.org
Fuquay-Varina
Stephen Fox
Fort Liberty Fire and Emergency Services
919-618-5004 (H)
Stephenafox4@gmail.com
Raleigh
Michael Morris
UNC Health Care – Rex
9am-2pm M-F
fishnman2021@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Wayne 
Technician Proxies:
Goldsboro
Crystal Heath
Partnership for Children of Wayne County
919-735-3371
cheath@pfcw.org
Goldsboro
Shelly Willis
Partnership for Children of Wayne County
919-735-3371×235
swillis@pfcw.org

[back to top]

 
Wilkes 
Technician Proxies:
Moravian Falls
Kevin Bounds
Safe Kids Wilkes County
(336) 928-0945
firemar750@hotmail.com
Wilkesboro
Michael Belk
Wilkes County Health Department
336-651-7450
jbelk@wilkescounty.net

[back to top]

 
Wilson 
Instructors:
Wilson
Deborah Leonard
NC DOT
252-230-0827
debroahleo1118@gmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Wilson
Jourdon Pope
Wilson Fire/Rescue Services
252-399-2898
jpope@wilsonnc.org
Wilson
Wendy Radford
Wilson County EMS
237-0789
wradford@wilsoncountync.gov

[back to top]

 

Site sponsored by