Child Passenger Safety Training Committee

About the Committee

The North Carolina Governor’s Highway Safety Program and the NC Department of Insurance, the two state agencies providing the majority of the funds within our state, established the NC Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Training Committee to help develop and implement policies and procedures to be followed by agencies, programs, or individuals conducting CPS training programs sponsored in whole or in part by the State of North Carolina.

The NC CPS Training Committee is responsible for planning and running the annual CPS Conference held in March. Other tasks vary and include curriculum development, communications to technicians about policies and procedures, monitoring of state-sponsored CPS classes, etc. For questions about the goals and activities of the NC CPS Training Committee, feel free to contact any current member.

Members of the NC CPS Training Committee are representatives of agencies or programs involved in State or local CPS educational and/or training efforts, represent all regions of the State of North Carolina, and include representatives of state and local law enforcement agencies, fire and rescue departments, health departments, and hospitals. Individual CPS Instructors, consultants, and advocates are also represented on the committee.

Current Committee Members

Committee Chair – Representing Fire Services
Ms. Meg Langston
Fire and Life Safety Educator
Wilmington Fire Department/New Hanover County Fire Services
801 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28401
910-343-4784
meg.langston@wilmingtonnc.gov
Term Ends: September 30, 2013

Committee Vice-Chair – Representing Public Health/Hospitals
Ms. Suzanne LeDoyen
Public Health Educator
Wake County Human Services Public Health Center
10 Sunnybrook Road
Raleigh, NC 27620
919-250-3989
sledoyen@wakegov.com
Term Ends: September 30, 2015

Committee Secretariat – Representing Advocates
Ms. Kim Wittig
Fire and Life Safety Educator
City of Rocky Mount Fire Department
375 E. Raleigh Boulevard
Rocky Mount, NC 27801
252-972-1379
kimberly.wittig@rockymountnc.gov
Term Ends: September 30, 2013

Representing Advocates

Mr. Jody Piatt
CPS Advocate and Instructor
Durham Police Department (Retired)
9037 Bahama Woods Lane
Bahama, NC 27503
919-818-9823
tact1@mindspring.com
Term Ends: September 30, 2013

Representing Emergency Medical Services

Ms. Kathy Mellown
Special Programs Coordinator
Durham County EMS
226 Milton Road
Durham, NC 27712
919-560-8235
kmellown@dconc.gov
Term Ends: September 30, 2015

Representing Fire Services

Mr. Aaron Miller
Fire Prevention Specialist
Blowing Rock Fire and Rescue
Blowing Rock, NC 28605
828-295-5218
amillerbrpd@gmail.com
Term Ends: September 30, 2014

Representing Law Enforcement

Officer Melanie Daniel
Senior Police Officer
Greensboro Police Department
2602 S. Elm-Eugene St
Greensboro, NC 27402
336-373-4645
melanie.daniel@greensboro-nc.gov
Term Ends: September 30, 2013

Officer Frank Gore
Master Officer
Durham Police Department
Traffic Services
505 West Chapel Hill Street
Durham, NC 27701
919-560-4935 x28451
Franklin.Gore@durhamnc.gov
Term Ends: September 30, 2015

Master Trooper Tommy Davis
Traffic Safety Information Officer
Troop C Headquarters,
North Carolina State Highway Patrol
1831 Blue Ridge Road
Raleigh, NC 27607
919-733-3911
Tommy.Davis@ncdps.gov
Term Ends: Appointed by State Highway Patrol

Representing NC DOI, Injury Prevention Regions

Ms. Renae Harris
Injury Prevention Specialist, Eastern Region
Office of State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
1202 Mail Service Center
322 Chapanoke Road
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 800-634-7854
Renae.Harris@ncdoi.gov
Term Ends: Appointed by Office of State Fire Marshal

Representing Public Health/Hospitals

Ms. Theresa Cromling
Coordinator
Safe Kids Durham County
Duke Children’s Hospital
226 Milton Road
Durham NC, 27713
919-323-5073
theresa.cromling@duke.edu
Term Ends: September 30, 2015

Ms. Charlene Proctor
TEAMHealth Hospital Medicine Site Coordinator
Rutherford Regional Medical Center
288 S. Ridgecrest Ave.
Rutherfordton, NC 28139
828-286-5496
Charlene_Proctor@teamhealth.com
Term Ends: September 30, 2014

Representing Special Populations

Hispanic/Latino
Ms. Cecilia Saloni
Public Safety Director
El Pueblo, Inc.
700 Blue Ridge Road
Suite 101
Raleigh, NC 27606
919-835-1525
cecilia@elpueblo.org
Term Ends: Appointed by El Pueblo

Child Restraint Manufacturers
Ms. Sarah Tilton
CPS Advocate
Britax Child Safety, Inc.
4140 Pleasant Road
Fort Mill, SC 29708
704-409-1695
Sarah.Tilton@Britax.com
Term Ends: Appointed by Executive Committee

Children with Special Health Care Needs
Ms. Vickie Killough
Co-Coordinator
WNC Safe Kids
Mission Children’s Hospital
520 Biltmore Avenue, Suite C
Asheville, NC 28801
828-213-5544
victoria.killough@msj.org
Term Ends: Appointed by Executive Committee

Members of the NC CPS Training Executive Committee

Mr. Joshua DeFisher
Highway Safety Specialist
NC Governor’s Highway Safety Program
215 E. Lane Street
Raleigh, NC 27601
919-733-3083
jsdefisher@ncdot.gov

Mr. Bill Hall
Director
NC CPS Resource Center
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
730 Martin Luther King Boulevard, Suite 300
CB# 3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
919-962-8721 / 800-672-4527 x6
bill_hall@unc.edu

Ms. Kelly Ransdell
Deputy Director
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
322 Chapanoke Road
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 x319 / 800-634-7854 x319
kelly.ransdell@ncdoi.gov

NC CPS Training Committee Support

Mr. Allan Buchanan
Injury Prevention Specialist, Central Region
Office of State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
322 Chapanoke Road
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 / 800-634-7854
allan.buchanan@ncdoi.gov

Ms. Allison Cummings
Injury Prevention Coordinator
Office of State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
322 Chapanoke Road
1202 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 x314 / 800-634-7854 x314
allison.cummings@ncdoi.gov

Ms. Angie Gregg
Injury Prevention Specialist, Western Region
Office of State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
1202 Mail Service Center
322 Chapanoke Road
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 800-634-7854
angie.gregg@ncdoi.gov

Ms. Bevan Kirley
Research Associate
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
730 Martin Luther King Boulevard, Suite 300
CB# 3430
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
919-962-5836
kirley@hsrc.unc.edu

Ms. Jan Parker
Injury Prevention Specialist
Office of State Fire Marshal
NC Department of Insurance
1202 Mail Service Center
322 Chapanoke Road
Raleigh, NC 27699-1202
919-661-5880 800-634-7854
jan.parker@ncdoi.gov

 

Site sponsored by