CPS Instructors and Proxies

In an effort to maintain the highest level of training possible and to help ensure that all CPS Technicians are trained following the standardized curriculum, only certified Instructors and officially approved Instructor Candidates are allowed to teach the CPS Certification class.

In addition, all Technicians and Instructors are required to have a currently certified Instructor or authorized Technician Proxy witness and verify child restraint educational and installation skills in a clinic or Permanent Checking Station setting as a part of the re-certification process.

Following is a list of Natonally Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructors and Technician Proxies in North Carolina sorted by county and by city.

Click on a county name to see available Instructors and/or Proxies:

Alamance Anson Beaufort Brunswick Buncombe Burke Cabarrus Catawba Craven Cumberland Dare Durham Edgecombe Forsyth Franklin Gaston Gates Guilford Harnett Henderson Iredell Johnston Lee Mecklenburg Mitchell Moore Nash New Hanover Onslow Orange Pasquotank Pitt Randolph Richmond Rockingham Rutherford Stokes Surry Union Vance Wake Watauga Wayne Wilkes Wilson

 
Alamance 
Instructors:
Burlington
Nim Harris
Burlington Fire Department
336-229-3132
nharris@ci.burlington.nc.us
 
Technician Proxies:
Mebane
Jennifer Bradley
Mebane Fire Department
919-563-5718
jenmary201@firehousemail.com

[back to top]

 
Anson 
Technician Proxies:
Wadesboro
William Kress Horne
Anson County Sheriff’s Office
704-695-6943
wkresshorne129@yahoo.com
Wadesboro
Kim Wilson
Anson County Partnership for Children
704-694-4036
kim.wilson@windstream.net

[back to top]

 
Beaufort 
Instructors:
Washington
Diane Benson
CPS Advocate/Educator
252-256-3266
midibo74@suddenlink.net
 
Technician Proxies:
Washington
Angela Flowers
Washington Police Department
252-948-9445
aflowers@washingtonnc.gov
Washington
Bonnie Uncapher
Advocate/Volunteer
252-347-2682
b_uncapher@hotmail.com

[back to top]

 
Brunswick 
Technician Proxies:
Oak Island
Susanna Williams
*No Agency Listed*
910-599-5841
schmittwomen@yahoo.com
Southport
Melissa Hinnant
Southport Police Department
910-457-7911
mhinnant@southportpd.org

[back to top]

 
Buncombe 
Instructors:
Asheville
Mark Dillingham
Skyland Fire Department
828-684-6421
mdillingham@skylandfire.com
Asheville
Beverly Hopps
Safe Kids Western North Carolina
828-213-5548
cgcbxb@msj.org
Asheville
Victoria Killough
Safe Kids Western North Carolina
828-213-5544
jccvlw@msj.org
Asheville
Kelley Webb
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-251-4011
kklope@ashevillenc.gov
Asheville
Richard Sales
Reynolds Fire Department
828-298-5200
RichardSales@reynoldsfire.com

[back to top]

 
Burke 
Instructors:
Morganton
Claudia Summers
Renu Massage & Bodywork Therapy, Inc
828-403-0855
csummers12@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Cabarrus 
Instructors:
Concord
Norman Franklin
Concord Fire and Life Safety
704-920-5529
franklinn@ci.concord.nc.us
Concord
Tony Miller
NC State Highway Patrol (Retired)
980-355-2609
ncbeachbumoki@yahoo.com

[back to top]

 
Catawba 
Instructors:
Conover
Debbie Leger
Catawba Valley Medical Center
828-326-3500
dleger@catawbavalleymc.org
Hickory
Alison Henrickson
Catawba County Health Department
828-695-6576
ahenrickson@catawbacountync.gov
Hickory
Emily Marr
Safe Kids Midlands
864-706-8680
emily.a.kaiser@gmail.com
Hickory
Jennifer Mccracken
Catawba County Health Department
828-695-5820
jmccrack@catawbacountync.gov
Hickory
Tonya Moss
Catawba County Health Department
828-695-6595
tmoss@catawbacountync.gov
Sherrills Ford
Mark Raulerson
Sherrills Ford/ Terrell Fire and Rescue
828-478-2131
mraulerson@sftfr.net
Technician Proxies:
Claremont
Harold Ball
Claremont Fire Department
828-459-9296
prevention@claremontfd.net

[back to top]

 
Craven 
Instructors:
New Bern
Dennis Tyndall
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2931
dlt304@embarqmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
New Bern
Jeremy Blalock
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2931
blalockj@newbern-nc.org
New Bern
Gregory Gibson
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4390
ggibson@suddenlink.net

[back to top]

 
Cumberland 
Technician Proxies:
Fayetteville
Brandon Hanzal
Stoney Point Fire Department
910-424-0694
bhanzal@stoneypointfire.com
Goldston
Stephen Fox
Fort Bragg Fire and Emergency Services
910-643-3602
stephen.a.fox.civ@mail.mil
Lillington
Kevin Sudduth
Fayetteville Fire Department
910-433-1404
KSudduth@ci.fay.nc.us

[back to top]

 
Dare 
Technician Proxies:
Nags Head
Shane Hite
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
hite@townofnagshead.net
Nags Head
Philip Wolfe
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
phil.wolfe@nagsheadnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Durham 
Instructors:
Bahama
Jody Piatt
Durham Police Department (Retired)
919-818-9823
tact1@mindspring.com
Durham
Theresa Cromling
Safe Kids Durham County
919-323-5073
croml001@mc.duke.edu
Durham
Frank Gore
Durham Police Department
919-560-4935
franklin.gore@durhamnc.gov
Durham
Katherine Mellown
Durham County EMS
919-560-8235
kmellown@dconc.gov
Technician Proxies:
Durham
Brian Morris
Bethesda Fire Department
919-596-7862
wbmorris@bethesdavfd.org

[back to top]

 
Edgecombe 
Instructors:
Rocky Mount
Kimberly Wittig
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1379
kimberly.wittig@rockymountnc.gov
 
Technician Proxies:
Rocky Mount
Randy Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Forsyth 
Technician Proxies:
Kernersville
James Albury
Piney Grove Volunteer Fire & Rescue Department
336-993-5721
Albury32@triad.rr.com
Kernersville
Chris Kauffman
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
CKauffman@toknc.com
Kernersville
Aaron Monroe
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
AMonroe@toknc.com

[back to top]

 
Franklin 
Technician Proxies:
Louisburg
Randy Lanham
Louisburg Fire Department
919-496-4290
rlanham@louisburgfiredept.org

[back to top]

 
Gaston 
Instructors:
Gastonia
Billie Kinstler
Advocate/Volunteer
704-852-4000 (H)
bkinstler@yahoo.com
Gastonia
Jackie Quinley
Gastonia Police Department
704-866-6702
quinley_jackie@cityofgastonia.com
Gastonia
Dashaun Wilson
Gastonia Fire Department
704-869-1919
wilson_dashaun@cityofgastonia.com

[back to top]

 
Gates 
Instructors:
Gates
Theresa Monroe
Suffolk Fire and Rescue
757-539-8787
fyrwmn71@cox.net

[back to top]

 
Guilford 
Instructors:
Greensboro
Stephen Keaney
CPS Advocate/Educator
336-202-2894
keaneys@yahoo.com
Greensboro
Leigha Shepler
SAFE Guilford/Cone Health
336-832-2970
Leigha.Shepler@conehealth.com
Technician Proxies:
Greensboro
Melanie Daniel
Greensboro Police Department
336-373-4645
melanie.daniel@greensboro-nc.gov
Greensboro
April Roberts
Greensboro Fire Department
336-373-7834
april.robertson@greensboro-nc.gov
Summerfield
Jenna Daniels
Summerfield Fire Department
336-451-4174
jdaniels@summerfieldfire.com

[back to top]

 
Harnett 
Technician Proxies:
Lillington
R Cox
Harnett County Sheriff’s Office
910-893-0119
tcox@harnett.org

[back to top]

 
Henderson 
Technician Proxies:
East Flat Rock
Raymond Deso
Hendersonville Fire Department
828-697-3024
fyr1462@hotmail.com

[back to top]

 
Iredell 
Instructors:
Mooresville
Tonya Newman
Mooresville Fire Department
704-664-1338
sivfd1260@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Johnston 
Technician Proxies:
Selma
Christina Peterson
Partnership for Children of Johnston County
919-202-0002
cpeterson@pfcjc.org
Selma
Jennifer Williams
Partnership for Children of Johnston County
919-202-0002
jwilliams@pfcjc.org

[back to top]

 
Lee 
Technician Proxies:
Sanford
Tracy Watson
Sanford Fire Department
919-775-8312
tracy.watson@sanfordnc.net

[back to top]

 
Mecklenburg 
Instructors:
Charlotte
Ryan Jackson
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
704-432-3975
rjackson1@cmpd.org
Charlotte
Jo Provost
CPS Advocate and Instructor

jodayprovost@gmail.com

Charlotte
Sarah Tilton
Britax Child Safety
704-409-1695
sarah.tilton@britax.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Charlotte
Joyce Kara
Britax Child Safety
704-409-1706
joyce.kara@britax.com
Matthews
Stason Tyrrell
Matthews Police Department
704-845-1651
styrrell@matthewspolice.org

[back to top]

 
Mitchell 
Instructors:
Spruce Pine
Heather Greene
Blue Ridge Regional Hospital
828-766-1592
heather.greene@msj.org

[back to top]

 
Moore 
Technician Proxies:
Pinehurst
Donna Mckone Page
Pinehurst Fire Department
910-295-5575
dpage@villageofpinehurst.org
Southern Pines
Buddy Thompson
Southern Pines Fire Department
910-692-2720
chiefbthompson@yahoo.com

[back to top]

 
Nash 
Instructors:
Rocky Mount
Kimberly Wittig
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1379
kimberly.wittig@rockymountnc.gov
 
Technician Proxies:
Louisburg
Randy Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov
Nashville
Robert Bobbitt
Nashville Fire Department
252-459-3017
robbie.bobbitt@townofnashvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
New Hanover 
Instructors:
Wilmington
Meg Langston
Wilmington Fire Department
910-343-4784
meg.langston@wilmingtonnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Onslow 
Technician Proxies:
Jacksonville
James Rardin
Jacksonville Fire Department
910-455-8080
jrardin@ci.jacksonville.nc.us

[back to top]

 
Orange 
Instructors:
Chapel Hill
Bill Hall
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-962-8721
hall@hsrc.unc.edu
Chapel Hill
Matt Lawrence
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-969-2006
mlawrence@townofchapelhill.org
Chapel Hill
Ashley Phillips
Advocate/Volunteer

ashleyjoycephillips@gmail.com

 
Technician Proxies:
Chapel Hill
Dace Bergen
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-969-4899
dbergen@townofchapelhill.org
Chapel Hill
Wayne Partin
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-968-2781
wpartin@townofchapelhill.org

[back to top]

 
Pasquotank 
Instructors:
Elizabeth City
Mike Whitehurst
Albemarle Hospital, EMS Education Department
252-384-4384
mwhitehurst@albemarlehealth.org

[back to top]

 
Pitt 
Technician Proxies:
Farmville
Christopher May
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4671
cmay@greenvillenc.gov
Greenville
Alfred Everington
*No Agency Listed*
(H)
ugowego@earthlink.net
Greenville
Natalia Ugalde

nati2429@hotmail.com

Greenville
Ellen Walston
Eastern Carolina Injury Prevention Program-VidantMC
252-847-8532
ewalston@vidanthealth.com

[back to top]

 
Randolph 
Technician Proxies:
Asheboro
Wendy Kennon
Randolph County Health Department
336-318-6196
wfkennon@co.randolph.nc.us
Asheboro
Arthur Milligan
Asheboro Police Department
336-626-1300
artmilligan@centurylink.net

[back to top]

 
Richmond 
Technician Proxies:
Rockingham
Amy Hamilton
First Health of the Carolinas
910-417-3735
ahamilton@firsthealth.org

[back to top]

 
Rockingham 
Technician Proxies:
Reidsville
Gene Brown
Reidsville Rescue Squad
336-637-7700
gbrown125@yahoo.com
Reidsville
Gerald Strader
Reidsville Fire Department
336-349-1024
gstrader@ci.reidsville.nc.us

[back to top]

 
Rutherford 
Instructors:
Rutherfordton
Charlene Proctor
Rutherford Regional Health System
828-286-5218
Charlene.Proctor@RutherfordRegional.com

[back to top]

 
Stokes 
Technician Proxies:
King
Charles Hartgrove
CPS Advocate/Educator
336-593-5409
medicinblack@aol.com

[back to top]

 
Surry 
Instructors:
Elkin
Theresa Knops
CPS Advocate/Educator

thatknopsgirl@yahoo.com

Elkin
Myron Waddell
Surry County Emergency Services
336-783-9012
waddellm@co.surry.nc.us

[back to top]

 
Union 
Instructors:
Monroe
Jennifer Gates
Carolinas Healthcare System
704-225-9221
jcooke@carolinashealthcare.org
Monroe
Deanna Pressley
CMC-Union Safe Communities/Safe Kids
704-507-0627
irishhearts4ever@aol.com
Technician Proxies:
Indian Trail
Windi Henderson
Hemby Bridge Fire Department
704-882-2100
windihenderson@hembybridgevfd.com
Monroe
Robert Bolick
Monroe Fire Department
704-695-6673
rbolick@monroenc.org
Monroe
John Jackson
Monroe Police Department
704-282-4700
jjackson@monroenc.org
Monroe
Reva Lemmonds
Carolinas Healthcare System
704-296-4105
missy.lemmonds@carolinashealthcare.org
Monroe
Kevin Philemon
Monroe Fire Department
704-282-4726
kphilemon@monroenc.org

[back to top]

 
Vance 
Instructors:
Henderson
Allan Buchanan
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-661-5880
allan.buchanan@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Wake 
Instructors:
Cary
Stanley McHenry
Durham Police Department (Retired)
919-210-7399
dpdtact5@aol.com
Morrisville
Thomas Dooley
Morrisville Fire Department
919-463-6140
tdooley@townofmorrisville.org
Morrisville
Nathan Lozinsky
Morrisville Fire Department
919-706-7271
nlozinsky@townofmorrisville.org
Raleigh
Suzanne Ledoyen
Wake County Human Services
919-250-3989
Sledoyen@wakegov.com
Raleigh
Jan Parker
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-661-5880
jan.parker@ncdoi.gov
Raleigh
Kelly Ransdell
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-661-5880
kelly.ransdell@ncdoi.gov
Wake Forest
Linda Wiandt
Llad & Associates
919-554-1130
lwiandt@llad.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Apex
David Cotten
Apex Fire Department
919-842-6765
wdcotten@hotmail.com
Apex
David Dillon
Apex Fire Department
919-249-1949
david.dillon@apexnc.org
Apex
Jason Nesbit
Apex Fire Department
919-367-4051
jason.nesbit@apexnc.org
Fuquay-Varina
Adam Stuart
Apex Fire Department
919-362-4001
adam.stuart@apexnc.org
Knightdale
Chris Miller
Knightdale Fire Department
919-217-2271
chris.miller@ci.knightdale.nc.us

[back to top]

 
Watauga 
Instructors:
Blowing Rock
Angie Gregg
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-218-6103
angie.gregg@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Wayne 
Instructors:
Pikeville
Velvet Tyndall
CPS Advocate/Educator
252-560-2111
vwtyndall@yahoo.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Goldsboro
Jourdon Pope
*No Agency Listed*
252-399-2890
fire_captain1506@yahoo.com

[back to top]

 
Wilkes 
Technician Proxies:
Moravian Falls
Kevin Bounds
Wilkes County Fire Marshal’s Office
336-921-7534
kbounds@wilkescounty.net

[back to top]

 
Wilson 
Instructors:
Wilson
Debroah Leonard
NC DOT/Wilson County Sheriff’s Office
252-230-0827
debroahleo1118@gmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Wilson
Tammy Williford
Wilson County EMS
252-237-0789
twilliford@wilsoncountyems.com

[back to top]

 

Site sponsored by