CPS Instructors and Proxies

In an effort to maintain the highest level of training possible and to help ensure that all CPS Technicians are trained following the standardized curriculum, only certified Instructors and officially approved Instructor Candidates are allowed to teach the CPS Certification class.

In addition, all Technicians and Instructors are required to have a currently certified Instructor or authorized Technician Proxy witness and verify child restraint educational and installation skills in a clinic or Permanent Checking Station setting as a part of the re-certification process.

Following is a list of Natonally Certified Child Passenger Safety Instructors and Technician Proxies in North Carolina sorted by county and by city.

Click on a county name to see available Instructors and/or Proxies:

Alamance Beaufort Brunswick Buncombe Burke Cabarrus Catawba Chatham Cleveland Craven Cumberland Dare Durham Edgecombe Forsyth Franklin Gaston Guilford Henderson Iredell Johnston Lee Lincoln Martin Mecklenburg Mitchell Moore Nash New Hanover Onslow Orange Pasquotank Pitt Randolph Richmond Stanly Stokes Surry Union Vance Wake Watauga Wayne Wilkes Wilson

 
Alamance 
Instructors:
Mebane
Jennifer Livers
Mebane Fire Department
919-563-5718
jlivers@cityofmebane.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Graham
Matthew Ingold
North Chatham Vol. Fire Department
336-516-4944
Mingold@northchathamvfd.com

[back to top]

 
Beaufort 
Technician Proxies:
Washington
Angela Flowers
Washington Police Department
252-975-9375
aflowers@washingtonnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Brunswick 
Instructors:
Leland
Ronnie Hayes
Leland Fire and Rescue
910-371-2727
rhayes@townofleland.com

[back to top]

 
Buncombe 
Instructors:
Asheville
Mark Dillingham
Riceville Fire and Rescue
828-782-0798
dillingham2121@gmail.com
Asheville
Beverly Hopps
Safe Kids Western North Carolina
828-213-5548
Beverly.Hopps@HCAHealthcare.com
Asheville
Victoria Killough
Safe Kids Western North Carolina
828-213-5544
victoria.killough@HCAhealthcare.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Asheville
Kelly Hinz
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-251-4010
khinz@ashevillenc.gov
Asheville
Kelley Klope
Asheville Fire and Rescue
828-251-4011
kklope@ashevillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Burke 
Instructors:
Morganton
Claudia Summers
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-609-7609
csummers12@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Cabarrus 
Instructors:
Concord
Norman Franklin
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-218-6103
norman.franklin@ncdoi.gov
Concord
Tony Miller
NC State Highway Patrol
980-355-2609
ncbeachbumoki@yahoo.com

[back to top]

 
Catawba 
Instructors:
Hickory
Tonya Moss
Catawba County Health Department
828-695-6595
tmoss@catawbacountync.gov
Sherrills Ford
Mark Raulerson
Sherrills Ford/ Terrell Fire and Rescue
828-478-2131
mraulerson@sftfr.net
Technician Proxies:
Claremont
Harold Ball
Claremont Fire Department
828-459-9296
prevention@claremontfd.net
Hickory
Thomas Raper
Hickory Fire Department
828-261-7288
traper@hickorync.gov
Newton
Melanie Sigmon
*No Agency Listed*
828-464-1575
melaniesigmon@catawbacountync.gov

[back to top]

 
Chatham 
Technician Proxies:
Pittsboro
Chad Deal
North Chatham Vol. Fire Department
919-542-3380
ltcdeal@hotmail.com
Pittsboro
Ronnie Page
North Chatham Vol. Fire Department
919-542-3380
captrpage@nc.rr.com

[back to top]

 
Cleveland 
Technician Proxies:
Shelby
Tina Williams
Cleveland County Partnership for Children
704-734-2052
tina.williams@ccpartnershipforchildren.com

[back to top]

 
Craven 
Instructors:
New Bern
Dennis Tyndall
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2955
tyndalld@newbernnc.gov
New Bern
Richard Youngs
*No Agency Listed*
252631-2928
youngsrick@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
New Bern
Jeremy Blalock
New Bern Fire Department
252-639-2961
blalockj@newbernnc.gov
New Bern
Gregory Gibson
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4390
gregandcorie@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Cumberland 
Technician Proxies:
Fayetteville
Robert Brogdon
Fort Bragg Fire and Emergency Services
910-391-7819
robert.brogdon1@gmail.com
Fayetteville
Brandon Hanzal
Stoney Point Fire Department
910-424-0694
bhanzal@stoneypointfire.com
Goldston
Stephen Fox
Fort Bragg Fire and Emergency Services
910-396-4136
stephen.a.fox.civ@mail.mil
Spring Lake
Jason Williams
Spring Lake Fire Department
910-436-0337
jwilliams@spring-lake.org

[back to top]

 
Dare 
Technician Proxies:
Nags Head
Shane Hite
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
Shane.hite@nagsheadnc.gov
Nags Head
Philip Wolfe
Nags Head Fire & Rescue
252-441-5909
phil.wolfe@nagsheadnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Durham 
Instructors:
Durham
Theresa Cromling
Safe Kids Durham County
919-323-5073
Theresa.cromling@duke.edu
Durham
F. Gore
*No Agency Listed*
919-730-8903
franklingore2013@gmail.com
Durham
Bill Hall
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-215-1815
hall@hsrc.unc.edu
Durham
John O’Donnell
*No Agency Listed*
919-422-2963
Jodmedic144@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
Durham
Jeffrey Howard
Durham Fire Department
919-361-0927
jeffrey.howard@durhamnc.gov
Durham
Brian Morris
Durham Fire Department
919-596-1725
walter.morris@durhamnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Edgecombe 
Instructors:
Rocky Mount
Kimberly Wittig
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1379
kimberly.wittig@rockymountnc.gov
 
Technician Proxies:
Rocky Mount
William Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Forsyth 
Technician Proxies:
Kernersville
James Albury
Union Cross Fire & Rescue Department
336-904-8055
Albury32@icloud.com
Kernersville
Chris Kauffman
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
CKauffman@toknc.com
Kernersville
Aaron Monroe
Kernersville Fire and Rescue Department
336-996-4885
AMonroe@toknc.com

[back to top]

 
Franklin 
Technician Proxies:
Louisburg
William Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Gaston 
Instructors:
Gastonia
Jaclyn Quinley
Gastonia Police Department
704-842-5124
quinley_jackie@cityofgastonia.com

[back to top]

 
Guilford 
Technician Proxies:
Greensboro
Melanie Daniel
Greensboro Police Department
336-430-6533
melanie.daniel@greensboro-nc.gov
Greensboro
Leigha Jordan
Moses Cone Health Care System
336-832-3939
leigha.shepler@gmail.com
Summerfield
Jenna Daniels
Summerfield Fire Department
336-451-4174
jdaniels@summerfieldfire.com
Summerfield
Michael Kallam
Summerfield Fire Department
336-643-4341
dkallam@summerfieldfire.com

[back to top]

 
Henderson 
Technician Proxies:
East Flat Rock
Raymond Deso
Hendersonville Fire Department
828-697-3024
rdeso@hvlnc.org

[back to top]

 
Iredell 
Instructors:
Mooresville
Tonya Newman
Mooresville Fire Department
704-664-1338
tnewman@mooresvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
Johnston 
Technician Proxies:
Selma
Christina Peterson
Partnership for Children of Johnston County
919-975-2523
cpeterson@pfcjc.org
Selma
Jennifer Williams
Partnership for Children of Johnston County
919-202-0002
jwilliams@pfcjc.org

[back to top]

 
Lee 
Technician Proxies:
Sanford
Heather Lineberry
Sanford Fire Department
919-775-8312
heather.lineberry@sanfordnc.net

[back to top]

 
Lincoln 
Technician Proxies:
Lincolnton
Juliana Whitaker
Lincoln County Health Department
704-732-3952
julianawhitaker@hotmail.com

[back to top]

 
Martin 
Technician Proxies:
Williamston
Phillip Peaks
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
michaelpeaks@townofwilliamston.com
Williamston
Robert Rogers
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
rob.rogers@earthlink.net
Williamston
Laura Stone
Williamston Fire/Rescue/EMS
252-792-3521
lbstone@earthlink.net

[back to top]

 
Mecklenburg 
Instructors:
Charlotte
Jo Provost
*No Agency Listed*
704-575-9226
jodayprovost@gmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Charlotte
Justin Kupfer
Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department
704-301-6153
jkupfer@cmpd.org
Charlotte
Robert Wydra
A Safe Child
704-724-8091
asafechild@mindspring.com
Matthews
Tim Aycock
Matthews Police Department
704-841-6754
taycock@matthewsnc.gov
Matthews
Brian Shepherd
Matthews Police Department
704-841-6748
bshepherd@matthewsnc.gov

[back to top]

 
Mitchell 
Instructors:
Spruce Pine
Heather Greene
*No Agency Listed*
828-442-4502
htundra42@gmail.com

[back to top]

 
Moore 
Technician Proxies:
Aberdeen
Jeremiah Johnson
Aberdeen Fire Department
910-944-7888
capt41j@gmail.com
Pinehurst
Donna Mckone Page
Pinehurst Fire Department
910-295-5575
dpage@vopnc.org

[back to top]

 
Nash 
Instructors:
Rocky Mount
Kimberly Wittig
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1379
kimberly.wittig@rockymountnc.gov
 
Technician Proxies:
Louisburg
William Lanham
Rocky Mount Fire Department
252-972-1491
william.lanham@rockymountnc.gov
Nashville
Robert Bobbitt
Nashville Fire Department
252-459-3017
robbie.bobbitt@townofnashvillenc.gov

[back to top]

 
New Hanover 
Instructors:
Wilmington
Britney Melvin
New Hanover County Fire and Rescue
910-798-7336
Bmelvin@nhcgov.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Wilmington
Julia Phelps
New Hanover County Health Department
910-798-6636
jphelps@nhcgov.com

[back to top]

 
Onslow 
Technician Proxies:
Camp Lejeune
Derrick Mangas
Department of Navy
910-450-4363
derrick.j.mangas.civ@mail.mil
Jacksonville
Zachary Getts
Jacksonville Fire Department
910-455-8080
zgetts@jacksonvillenc.gov
Swansboro
Miles Bowman
US Marine Corps
910-450-7641
miles.bowman@usmc.mil

[back to top]

 
Orange 
Instructors:
Chapel Hill
Bevan Kirley
UNC Highway Safety Research Center
919-962-5836
kirley@hsrc.unc.edu
 
Technician Proxies:
Carrboro
Susanna Williams
Carrboro Fire Department
919-918-7349
swilliams@townofcarrboro.org
Chapel Hill
Dace Bergen
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-969-4899
dbergen@townofchapelhill.org
Chapel Hill
Millard Gregory
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-969-4899
tgregory@townofchapelhill.org
Chapel Hill
Anthony Partin
Chapel Hill Fire Department
919-968-2781
wpartin@townofchapelhill.org

[back to top]

 
Pasquotank 
Instructors:
Elizabeth City
Michael Whitehurst
College of the Albemarle
2523350-821-2285
michael_whitehurst@albemarle.edu

[back to top]

 
Pitt 
Technician Proxies:
Farmville
Christopher May
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4410
cmay@greenvillenc.gov
Greenville
Alfred Everington
Greenville Fire and Rescue
252-329-4390
ugowego54@gmail.com
Greenville
Natalia Ugalde
Vidant Medical Center
252-847-1403
natalia.ugalde@vidanthealth.com
Greenville
Ellen Walston
Eastern Carolina Injury Prevention Program-VidantMC
252-847-8532
ewalston@vidanthealth.com
Greenville
Jennifer Wobbleton
PCMH – Eastern Carolina Injury Prevention Program
252-847-6298
jennifer.davis@vidanthealth.com

[back to top]

 
Randolph 
Technician Proxies:
Asheboro
Wendy Fuller
Randolph County Health Department
336-318-6196
wendy.kennon@randolphcountync.gov
Randleman
James Parrish
Randleman Police Department
336-495-7516
jparrish@randlemanpolice.org

[back to top]

 
Richmond 
Technician Proxies:
Rockingham
Amy Hamilton
First Health of the Carolinas
910-417-3735
aforester@firsthealth.org

[back to top]

 
Stanly 
Technician Proxies:
Albemarle
Adam Palmer
Stanly County EMS
704-956-1526
apalmer@stanlycountync.gov

[back to top]

 
Stokes 
Technician Proxies:
King
Charles Hartgrove
*No Agency Listed*
336-593-5409
medicinblack@aol.com

[back to top]

 
Surry 
Instructors:
Elkin
Theresa Knops
Elkin Fire Department
336-794-6481
tknops@elkinnc.org
Elkin
Myron Waddell
*No Agency Listed*
336-374-0484
myron@thewaddellfamily.com

[back to top]

 
Union 
Instructors:
Monroe
Deanna Pressley
*No Agency Listed*
704-507-0627
irishhearts4ever@aol.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Indian Trail
Windi Henderson
Hemby Bridge Fire Department
704-882-2100
windihenderson@hembybridgevfd.com
Monroe
Robert Bolick
Monroe Fire Department
704-282-4731
rbolick@monroenc.org
Monroe
Kevin Philemon
Monroe Fire Department
704-282-4741
kphilemon@monroenc.org

[back to top]

 
Vance 
Instructors:
Henderson
Allan Buchanan
NC DOI, Office of State Fire Marshal
919-218-7855
allan.buchanan@ncdoi.gov

[back to top]

 
Wake 
Instructors:
Cary
Stanley Mchenry
Durham Police Department
919-210-7399
dpdtact5@aol.com
Fuquay-Varina
Kelly Ransdell
National Fire Protection Association
919-717-0017
kransdell@nfpa.org
Morrisville
Thomas Dooley
Morrisville Fire Department
919-463-6140
tdooley@townofmorrisville.org
Raleigh
Suzanne Ledoyen
Wake County Human Services
919-250-4633
suzanneledoyen@gmail.com
Technician Proxies:
Apex
David Dillon
Apex Fire Department
919-249-1949
david.dillon@apexnc.org
Apex
Jason Nesbit
Angier & Black River Fire Department
919-796-3613
sar2firedog@hotmail.com
Fuquay-Varina
Wayne Sherrod
Fuquay-Varina Fire Department
919-557-2787
firewalkus@yahoo.com
Fuquay-Varina
Adam Stuart
Apex Fire Department
919-362-4001
ahstuart@centurylink.net
Knightdale
Chris Miller
Knightdale Fire Department
919-217-2271
chris.miller@ci.knightdale.nc.us
Knightdale
Chris Morris
UNC Health Care – Rex
919-784-1802
chrismorris100@gmail.com
Wake Forest
Linda Wiandt
Llad & Associates
919-554-1130
lwiandt@llad.com

[back to top]

 
Watauga 
Instructors:
Blowing Rock
Angela Gregg
*No Agency Listed*
828-467-1371
Angiegregg@earthlink.net

[back to top]

 
Wayne 
Instructors:
Pikeville
Velvet Tyndall
*No Agency Listed*
252-560-2111
vwtyndall@yahoo.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Goldsboro
Jourdon Pope
Wilson Fire/Rescue Services
252-399-2398
jpope@wilsonnc.org
Goldsboro
Crystal Varker
Partnership for Children of Wayne County
919-735-3371
cvarker@pfcw.org
Goldsboro
Shelly Willis
Partnership for Children of Wayne County
919-735-3371×235
swillis@pfcw.org

[back to top]

 
Wilkes 
Technician Proxies:
Moravian Falls
Kevin Bounds
Wilkes County Fire Marshal’s Office
336-921-7534
kbounds@wilkescounty.net
Wilkesboro
Michael Belk
Wilkes County Health Department
336-651-7475
jbelk@wilkescounty.net

[back to top]

 
Wilson 
Instructors:
Wilson
Deborah Leonard
NC DOT
252-230-0827
debroahleo1118@gmail.com
 
Technician Proxies:
Wilson
Tammy Williford
*No Agency Listed*
252-33-9078
twilliford68@gmail.com

[back to top]

 

Site sponsored by